mini movie reviews: june 2022 edition.

These days, I’ve been watching more TV shows than movies (planning one or two blog posts centered around those shows). But since I haven’t done one of these posts since February, I still have a good backlog of titles to review. Let’s get into it!


Edge of Doom (1950) – I watched this purely for Dana Andrews and Farley Granger (as one does). It’s a interesting, though odd story about an emotionally disturbed young man and a priest and how their lives connect in a rather tragic way. Noirish, if not exactly a film noir.

Witness for the Prosecution (1957) – Such a good twist at the end! Billy Wilder really knows how to make ’em.

Cat Ballou (1965) – Western comedies are such an underrated film genre! Cat Ballou follows a young woman through tragedy and outlaw escapades and creating the weirdest found family on earth. The songs in this are so catchy (still getting stuck in my head, months later) and Lee Marvin was a RIOT in his Oscar-winning dual role.

Hell on Frisco Bay (1955) – I love mob stories. And Alan Ladd. So a combination of the two was all but bound to win me over. And it totally did! I thought the romance subplot would go in a cliched direction when I started the movie, but I found myself really rooting for Steve (Alan) and Marcia to mend their marriage. As to whether or not they did, well…you’ll just have to watch the movie!

Boomerang! (1947) – Another Dana Andrews movie, telling the true story of a high-profile murder trial. Solid performances from Dana and Lee J. Cobb.

My Darling Clementine (1946)My Darling Clementine has a quiet wistfulness to it that other John Ford films share (like The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance). Henry Fonda was wonderfully steady as Wyatt Earp. I loved seeing Tim Holt and Ward Bond again as well. There’s so much to love about this thoughtful frontier Western!

Support Your Local Sheriff (1969) – Yep. You’ve just got to love Western comedies. I’m very familiar with Burt Kennedy’s snappy dialogue, thanks to his work on the WWII TV show Combat!, and it was a joy to have that same kind of clever humor present in a Western.

(By the way, if you’ve seen and enjoyed Support Your Local Sheriff, Rachel Kovaciny’s novel Dancing & Doughnuts has a very similar vibe.)

Double Indemnity (1944) – I knew there was a reason I didn’t trust Fred MacMurray. XD

Spider-Man (2002) – Would you all throw tomatoes at me if I told you that I don’t like Tobey Maguire’s portrayal of Spider-Man? *ducks* I’ve seen all three TM Spider-Man films more than once and I’m sure I’ll watch them again…but for Harry, not Peter. The best-friends-to-enemies/downward spiral trope is one of my favorites, weirdly enough. And Raimi’s trilogy did it so well.

Green Mansions (1959) Green Mansions is one of the absolute weirdest films I’ve ever seen. When I tell you that not even Audrey Hepburn and Anthony Perkins could save this movie, you know it’s bad.

House of Strangers (1949) – The story of an Italian family torn apart by greed and hatred and bitterness. Near the end of the film, the characters have a chance to break free of their family’s wretched generational cycle…but will they? This was a recommendation from The Classic Movie Muse, and it was great. I spent most of the movie disliking Richard Conte’s character (which was stressful, as he’s one of my favorite actors), but I loved Edward G. Robinson’s portrayal of the family patriarch. So much fun, even when he’s being mean, lol.

Little Men (1998) – A pleasant surprise! Any adaption of Little Men is viewed narrowly until I can judge its portrayal of Dan (as he’s my favorite fictional character), but I needn’t have worried. Ben Cook made an excellent Dan. And the rest of the film was a good adaption of a children’s classic. My little brothers enjoyed it immensely.

On the Beach (1959) – Nope. Nope. Nopeity nope. In a nutshell, On the Beach is about people living out their last days in Australia as a massive cloud of radiation moves ever closer to the continent. Depressing and disturbing. Excellent performances from great actors like Gregory Peck, Anthony Perkins, Ava Gardner, and Fred Astaire, but just…no.

God’s Not Dead: We the People (2021) – This is not a movie. It’s a sermon wrapped up in a few half-hearted performances. Which was disappointing, because I thought the previous movie in the series (God’s Not Dead: A Light in Darkness) was quite good, considering. But this fourth movie was most definitely not.

Red Eye (2005) – Another friend-recommended film, this time a recommendation from Charity. I love a good psychological thriller set on a plane, and Red Eye was certainly that. I want to see Rachel McAdams in more films now! And, of course, Cillian Murphy is always a good idea. 😉 (Even when he’s playing a horrid villain.)

The Man from U.N.C.L.E. (2015) – Why did it take me so long to see this delightful movie? I loved the 60’s aesthetic, Illya, the twisty plot, and Henry Cavill’s face (not necessarily in that order).


Have you seen any of these films? Spot any favorites on this list? Do let me know in the comments!

Eva-Joy

17 thoughts on “mini movie reviews: june 2022 edition.

Add yours

  1. Thank you very much for the mention, Eva-Joy! I’m so glad you enjoyed House of Strangers. Loving your eclectic mix of watches here. Witness for the Prosecution and Double Indemnity are teriffic. You’ve intrigued me with Edge of Doom and Red Eye.

    Like

  2. I’m always looking for good classics to watch and now I have a full list! I think the only two movies I’ve seen in this review are Spider-Man and Little Men. Spider-Man is what it is. But little men-!! I actually watched this before I read the book and I love both! Can’t wait to get into that list. I see many movie nights in my future😉

    Like

    1. Little Men is actually such a good adaption! Even if the acting isn’t always the best from some of the older actors, the kids really sell their parts. I love it.

      I’d be really interested to get your thoughts on any/all of these films when you watch them! House of Strangers is free on YouTube last I checked, btw.

      Like

  3. Hahaha! I just rewatched Cat Ballou recently and, yeah, it’s so wacky! But also good. Tricky balance, that.

    Witness for the Prosecution is cool. And you know I adore Support Your Local Sheriff. And UNCLE.

    Green Mansions, man — maybe it’s better if you’re high? I’ve never been high, so idk.

    We need to discuss Hell on Frisco Bay. I like it more and more with every rewatch. I love how Alan sort of seems to get younger as the film progresses, I love the flickering romance, and the scene where Edward G. Robinson faces off with Alan just crackles!!!!

    Like

    1. I totally watched Cat Ballou because I saw you mention it in a comment on IG. I looked it up, saw Lee Marvin was in it, and…yeah. =)

      Maybe the people who made Green Mansions were high themselves? Who knows!

      Hopefully I’ll be able to rewatch Hell On Frisco Bay soon (maybe with Mom) and then I’ll be better able to discuss it–I have a hard time remembering plot and character details if I watch a movie just once.

      Like

  4. They really need to stop making God’s Not Dead movies.

    I’ve actually seen The Man From U.N.C.L.E.! I liked Ilya a lot, but was annoyed by Henry Cavill’s character, whose name currently escapes me.

    Like

    1. Right?? So many Christian movies these days are nothing more than a sermon, and it’s so frustrating. Christians should be the ones making the most amazing films!

      Yep, I didn’t like Henry Cavill’s character much either. 😛 Meh.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The first time I watched UNCLE I wanted to slap Napoleon Solo all the time. And now, I am fiercely his defender, much like Illya. He’s a really nuanced character, and I think rewatches might change your mind a bit on him, Eva. Give me another week or two of healing, and I will be ready and eager to watch it together!

        Like

      2. Yup, it’s entirely possible I’ll like Napoleon better as the rewatches go by.

        Looking forward to watching it with you!!

        Like

  5. Okay, okay, I’ve never heard of Green Mansions OR On The Beach, but I am an Anthony Perkins and Gregory Peck lover as well as being rife with self-hatred, so I may just make myself watch them. My brain can’t spin a plot so awful that guys like them can’t save it, so I’m both excited and terrified to see what they’re about.

    Like

      1. Sometimes disturbing can be good, but I just looked up Green Mansions and. . .oh my. I have no idea what’s going on in the photos I’ve seen, but now I’m too frightened to give up and not watch it. 😂

        Like

      2. I’d certainly be interested in hearing what you think of Green Mansions/On the Beach when you watch them. XD

        Liked by 1 person

  6. “This is not a movie. It’s a sermon wrapped up in a few half-hearted performances.” If that ain’t the Christian movie industry in a nutshell. xD (Not that there aren’t some gems. Because there are. But on the whole . . . yikes. xD)

    Okay, I’m intrigued by Red Eye now. I’ll have to try it out. 😉

    Aww, so glad you enjoyed The Man from U.N.C.L.E.! It’s such an entertaining watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Um, yes. That’s definitely the Christian movie industry summed up. Soooo annoying. What are some actually good Christian films you’ve seen? I’m always interested in new movie recs.

      Do it!!! I’d love to hear your thoughts.

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑