the lord of the rings tag.

Found over at Mary and the Words.

MIDDLE EARTH: THE HOBBIT OR THE LORD OF THE RINGS?

LOTR, for both book and movies. Though I do love The Hobbit (book) and enjoy several aspects of the film trilogy, LOTR was my first love. The depth of LOTR’s story and the multitude of characters who I relate to, who make me cry, who I love an insane amount…it’s an easy choice for me!

FELLOWSHIP: FAVORITE HOBBIT MOVIE

This is difficult! The only Hobbit film I’ve rewatched in its entirety is Battle of the Five Armies–I feel as though I need to do a proper rewatch of all three films in order to have a conclusive opinion. However, it was reeeeally fun watching BOTFA with Rachel. I gained an appreciation for the most disliked film in the Hobbit trilogy, so I’m making it my answer. Now despise me, if you dare. =)

THE ONE RING: FAVORITE LOTR MOVIE OR BOOK

LOTR is only one book. *frowns* But yes, I get what they’re saying. 😉 IT’S SO HARD TO PICK. I know that The Two Towers is my least favorite book/movie (not that I don’t still really enjoy it!). But in a toss-up between Fellowship and Return of the King? HOW CAN I DECIDE? I love FOTR’s more intimate scale, camaraderie, and general heartwarmingness. But ROTK is allll kinds of epic and gutwrenching and incredible. If I absolutely had to choose, I’d go with ROTK (book + movie).

BILBO BAGGINS: FAVORITE CHARACTER

Frodo. Always, always, always. Book and movie both.

I have a loooooong blog post brewing for Rachel’s Middle Earth blog party in September. It goes into a lot of my reasons for loving Frodo as much as I do. And a Femnista article appearing in the July/August issue, on much the same subject! (Just from a more thoughtful, less gushy perspective.) But for this post, suffice to say that I find Frodo’s courage, kindness, and self-sacrifice inspiring. ❤

DOL GULDUR: LEAST FAVORITE CHARACTER

Denethor? Idk? LOTR is one of those stories where the heroes/heroines are SO compelling and wonderful that I genuinely don’t care about the villains. Sure, I dislike them and all. But they simply pale in comparison. The Mouth of Sauron is pretty despicable, I will say, for the sadness he brings to Gandalf & Co. at the Black Gate. Ugh.

GUNDABAD: FAVORITE EVIL CHARACTER

See above. 😛 For once, I don’t have a villain to like.

THE SHIRE: FAVORITE PLACE

The answer is in the question! Both Tolkien and Peter Jackson did such a good job at making the Shire a magical, homey, comfortable place (super important if we’re to understand why Frodo and the other hobbits would risk so much to protect it). I especially enjoy reading about the Shire and its doings in A Long Expected Party. May I live there???

RIVENDELL: FAVORITE RACE

Hobbits. Men are a super close second though.

MISTY MOUNTAINS: FAVORITE QUOTE FROM BOOK OR MOVIE

“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.

“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

Can’t be beat. 😭

MIRKWOOD: WOULD YOU RATHER BE AN ELF, HOBBIT, MAN, WIZARD, OR DWARF?

A hobbit, if it meant I could live a perfect hobbit-y life in the Shire. Otherwise, I’ll stick to my own race. =)

GONDOLIN: FAVORITE SON OF DURIN

You know, everyone says Thorin (or maybe Balin), but I’m going with Glóin! Not only is he Gimli’s dad, but he’s also a straight-up nice dude. He has a lovely chat with Frodo during one of the dinners at Rivendell, and it makes me smile. Frodo is excited to meet one of the dwarves that Bilbo adventured with (though I’d be surprised if Glóin hadn’t dropped by Bag End in the past) and Glóin is so friendly. *grins*

THE NINE: FAVORITE FELLOWSHIP MEMBER

It’s Frodo, but let me talk about my second favorite member: Aragorn. Without him, Frodo, Sam, Merry, and Pippin would never have made it to Rivendell (or out of Bree, let’s be honest). And once Gandalf falls, Aragorn takes on the responsibility of leading the fellowship. He’s incredibly humble in the role, brave, true, and all around amazing. Mad respect.

SINDARIN: FAVORITE WEAPON

“I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness…”

Sting is cool though. And the phial of Galadriel, though not ‘officially’ a weapon, is an absolute (not literal) killer when wielded by Frodo and, especially, Sam. (Not just in dealing with Shelob, but the Watchers as well!)

MINAS TIRITH: FAVORITE PIECE OF HOBBIT/LOTR MERCH

I don’t have any. :/ Unless you count the books and DVDs themselves. I do a couple items on order though…

GIL-GALAD: SOMETHING YOU WOULD CHANGE IN ONE OF THE MOVIES

I want to see the Scouring of the Shire! I don’t care if it would have made ROTK five hours long and ‘ruined’ the denouement. *crosses arms* I want to see it, with all the proper cast members and plenty of hobbit bravery and Howard Shore scoring everything.

MINAS MORGUL: GANDALF OR SARUMAN?

*spits out water laughing*

How is this even a question?

I’m not even going to dignify it with a proper response.

Buuuuuut just so you don’t get the wrong idea and think I’m a weirdo who prefers Saruman…GANDALF FOREVER! Specifically, Gandalf the White. (Okay, maybe you think I’m a weirdo anyway because I believe most people like the Grey better. But oh well.)

So those are my answers! Feel free to answer the tag yourself in a blog post or the comment section! And let me know if you share any of my LOTR opinions. (Or if you have completely different ones. That’s fine too. *wink*)

Eva-Joy

7 thoughts on “the lord of the rings tag.

Add yours

  1. I don’t remember all the details, but Denathor is at least a little more sympathetic in the books than the movies.

    MIDDLE EARTH: THE HOBBIT OR THE LORD OF THE RINGS?

    Lord of the Rings, both for the books and the movies, in so many ways. And that is in o way any kind of disrespect towards The Hobbit, which is still a great book in its own right. On that note, my favourite version of the Hobbit is the graphic novel. It basically takes the book, keeps all of its dialogue and narration, but replaces action and environmental descriptions with painted images.

    FELLOWSHIP: FAVORITE HOBBIT MOVIE

    Desolation of Smaug.

    THE ONE RING: FAVORITE LOTR MOVIE OR BOOK

    It’s been over 16 years since I’ve read the books, so I don’t remember which one I liked best. Also, I read the Two Towers book first, as the VHS wasn’t out yet when I started reading. Then I read Return of the King before the movie came out, and then went back to The Hobbit. As for the movies, they’re all very good, but Two Towers might be my personal favourite, even if I acknowledge that Fellowship is in terms of quality, the best and the most balanced of the three.

    BILBO BAGGINS: FAVORITE CHARACTER

    That’s tough, because there are so many characters to love in this tale. I’m kind of split between Frodo, Sam and Gandalf, but none of the others are all that far behind.

    DOL GULDUR: LEAST FAVORITE CHARACTER

    This might seem weirdly specific, but the one orc that tried to “gut” Frodo in the watch tower in Return of the King.

    GUNDABAD: FAVORITE EVIL CHARACTER

    Saruman. He’s despicable, yes, but he’s also very charismatic.

    THE SHIRE: FAVORITE PLACE

    At least within the trilogy, Rivendell seems like the nicest place to either visit or live, with the shire being a close second. Although, I could imagine MInas Tirith being really nice in better times.

    RIVENDELL: FAVORITE RACE

    I’m split between hobbits and elves, for different reasons.

    MISTY MOUNTAINS: FAVORITE QUOTE FROM BOOK OR MOVIE

    Don’t even know where to start.

    MIRKWOOD: WOULD YOU RATHER BE AN ELF, HOBBIT, MAN, WIZARD, OR DWARF?

    I’d like to say Wizard, but being a wizard comes with a lot of responsibilities. The lore behind the wizards is much more complicated than you’d realize by just watching the movies. So I’d probably go with man since that’s what I’m used to, and I’m not that interested in immortality on a mortal plane.

    GONDOLIN: FAVORITE SON OF DURIN

    Gimli is technically considered a son of Durin, so I’m going with him.

    THE NINE: FAVORITE FELLOWSHIP MEMBER

    Same answer as my Favourite Character answer.

    SINDARIN: FAVORITE WEAPON

    Don’t remember its name, but the sword that’s supposed to be wielded by the King of Gondor. The one that was reforged for Aragorn. I choose that not only because of its special properties, but the fact that its history goes all the way back to the first age.

    MINAS TIRITH: FAVORITE PIECE OF HOBBIT/LOTR MERCH

    Of what I have, I’ve got a mini One Ring that’s attached to a bookmark. I don’t remember where I picked up that bookmark, but I’ve never used it in hopes to keep it in good shape.

    GIL-GALAD: SOMETHING YOU WOULD CHANGE IN ONE OF THE MOVIES

    I would shorten The Hobbit into two movies, and also make sure the eagles were explained at some point. Also, I’d include Saruman’s death in the theatrical cut of The Two Towers.

    MINAS MORGUL: GANDALF OR SARUMAN?

    Agree with you that this shouldn’t even be a question. Gandalf wins.

    Like

    1. Also, that graphic novel of The Hobbit sounds really, really good! I’ll have to keep an eye out for it.

      Like

  2. Great answers, Eva!

    That’s fascinating to me, that LotR is one of the few stories where you find yourself focusing only on the heroes, not the villains. The heroes do seem pretty epic though, so it makes sense. ❤

    Really looking forward to reading your Frodo posts/articles!

    Like

    1. Yeah, the heroes are soooo amazing and the villains are so evil that I just…can’t bother myself about them. 😛 Usually, for me to truly like/fangirl over a villain, they’ve got to have at least ONE redeeming quality (except, um, Moriarty apparently), but the villains in LOTR are basically pure evil. Or just pathetic. So yeah.

      I hope you enjoy them! I’m especially happy with my Femnista one.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the Hobbit movies. I will stand up for them when necessary.

    I’ve always thought I’d like to live in Rivendell, but to be honest, I’d fit in better in the Shire. I’d be the good-natured hobbit who writes books all day and then goes to the pub at night to gab with her friends.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑