a movie ranking: Harrison Ford

For a while now, Annlyel Online has been doing a blog series where she takes favorite actors and actresses and ranks all the movies she’s seen them do (based on their performance, I think, as well as the quality of the movie and general preferences).  I asked her if I could borrow the idea because it sounds super fun/interesting and she said yes. (Thanks, Annlyel!)  I’m starting with Harrison Ford because he’s my favorite actor and I’ve seen quite a few of his movies. ❤

#17 – Patriot Games (1992)

Image result for harrison ford patriot games
(source)

I was really bored by this movie and I found the plot hard to follow (hence, the boredom).  I don’t remember much about the character Harrison Ford plays or the quality of his performance (though I assume it was good, as he’s such a great actor).

#16 – Sabrina (1995)

Image result for harrison ford sabrina
(source)

Again, this is a movie that I hardly remember and didn’t pay much attention to.  I think I prefer the older one, with Audrey Hepburn, though Harrison Ford is an improvement over Humphrey Bogart in the romance department. (The age gap between him and the main female character wasn’t so big at least.)

#15 – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Related image
(source)

Han Solo kinda annoys me in the original trilogy.  He and Leia and Luke all act so immature and I feel like he was at his most childish in Empire.  Sniping with Leia, especially.  However, I still Felt Things when he got frozen.

#14 – Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984)

Related image
(source)

Really enjoyed Ford’s performance in this film (as I do with all the Indy movies) but I didn’t like Temple of Doom overall.  Really didn’t like it.  So that’s why it’s so low on this list.

#13 – Ender’s Game (2013)

Image result for harrison ford ender's game
(source)

Stand-out performances from both Harrison Ford and Asa Butterfield couldn’t elevate this film from the typical YA dystopic sci-fi that it is.  I do appreciate Ford’s paternal gruffness as Graff (even if it isn’t super book-accurate) but that’s almost all I like about this film. (Disappointingly.)

#12 – 42 (2013)

Image result for harrison ford 42
(source)

42 is an amazing film and Harrison Ford is very good in it (as per the usual).  But this is much more Chadwick Boseman’s film and I actually remember very little of Ford’s role.  This film is ranked so high mostly because of how great it is, tbh.

#11 – A New Hope (1977)

Related image
(source)

The film that launched Harrison Ford into stardom.  I know I was quite entranced by his Han when I watched A New Hope as a kid.  I still really enjoy his performance in this film – I’m just not as big a fan of Han as some people are.  He has some awesome moments in this film though.

#10 – Return of the Jedi (1983)

Related image
(source)

Return of the Jedi is where I began to understand why lots of people are such huge fans of the original Star Wars trilogy.  I feel like everyone’s coolness levels went up about a million percent, lol.  Harrison Ford is really great as Han in every Star Wars film, but Return of the Jedi was a lot more special to me than Empire or New Hope.

#9 – Air Force One (1997)

Image result for harrison ford air force one
(source)

Ah, those 90’s thrillers.  Straight-up action with some heartwarming character moments sprinkled throughout.  Love it.  My only problem with this film was that I watched it so long ago that I forget a ton of it – including any and all impressions I had of Harrison Ford’s President Marshall.  I do remember really enjoying the film though.

#8 – Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008)

Image result for harrison ford crystal skull
(source)

I don’t hate this movie.  I actually really, really enjoy it.  And Harrison Ford is awesome in it.  So there. *grins* (Seriously, though, if you like Crystal Skull, please comment and let me know!)

#7 – The Force Awakens (2015)

Related image
(source)

This film is why I can neverrrr get behind Kylo Ren/Ben.  HE KILLS HIS DAD.  And it’s doubly awful because his dad is played by Harrison Ford and the whole scene makes me cry buckets.  I know that Ford kinda hates Han Solo but the way he played him in The Force Awakens…such a great send-off.  Older and wiser and a bit tireder, but still the same Han.

#6 – The Fugitive (1993)

Image result for harrison ford the fugitive
(source)

The first time I saw The Fugitive, I didn’t like it all that much.  I think I was too busy comparing it to the TV show (which I loooove).  But I re-watched it recently and it’s actually so good, you guys!  Full of conspiracy and chase scenes and angsty stuff and, y’know, Harrison Ford at pretty much the top of his game.

#5 – Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

Image result for harrison ford the last crusade
(source)

This is a funnier film than Raiders of the Lost Ark but it also makes me cry.  I absolutely cannot get over Harrison Ford’s acting greatness from when Indy’s dad gets shot to the end of the film.  Too awesome!

#4 – Age of Adaline (2015)

Image result for harrison ford age of adaline
(source)

So, this film is a little different from the others on this list because Harrison Ford plays a character who is also played by a younger guy within the same film.  So he has to portray all these feelings that his younger self had, while still giving his own interpretation to the character.  Sounds super complicated, I know (and I don’t think I explained it properly anyway).  But, as you’d expect, Ford nails the whole thing.

#3 – Regarding Henry (1991)

Image result for harrison ford regarding henry
(source)

THIS MOVIE IS SO GOOD YOU MUST WATCH IT AT ONCE.  Seriously.  Harrison Ford plays a mean lawyer who is shot in the head.  He lives, except his speech and mental abilities regress to that of a two year old so he has to learn how to live and function all over agagin.  In the process, he learns to become a better person and discovers some shocking truths about what he was like before the shooting.  It’s a tear-jerker and beautifully acted.

#2 – Witness (1985)

Image result for harrison ford witness
(source)

This isn’t the Christian romance industry’s version of the Amish, people!  This film is completely thrilling, romantic, interesting, and moving all at the same time.  Yes, it’s an action thriller but there’s so much more to it.  Highly, highly recommended.

#1 – Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

Related image
(source)

Um.  Yeah.  This is where it’s at, guys.  Harrison Ford at his best (in my opinion).  A true classic. ❤

So tell me!  What’s your favorite Harrison Ford role?  Movie?  Let me know in the comments!

Eva

16 thoughts on “a movie ranking: Harrison Ford

Add yours

  1. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to see this post! First off, love it! Ha-ha, Han’s death makes you cry buckets. Me too! It still hurts every time I see Kylo ram that red lightsaber through his dad with no more remorse whatsoever. Ugh. Raiders of the Lost Ark is an understandable #1. It is pretty much Harrison Ford at his best.

    I can’t wait to read your next movie ranking. 😊

    Like

    1. KYLO IS AWFUL. *growls in his direction*

      I still have to decide what actor/actress I’m going to feature, but I’m looking forward to it too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Of course I had to notice this post minutes after my retrospective review of Raiders of the Lost Ark.

    Anyway, you should rewatch Air Force One at some point. It still holds up fairly well, and Ford’s line “Get Off My Plane” was one of the iconic movie phrases of the 90’s.

    I don’t hate Kingdom of the Crystal Skull either, although I personally know people who despise it. But most people tend to agree that the odd-numbered Indiana Jones movies are better than the even numbered ones.

    And I would also agree that of Ford’s performances as Han, The Force Awakens is his strongest. He plays an older, wiser Han, while still showing a lot of the same edge that makes him such a popular character.

    Agreed with 42 being a brilliant movie as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow. I feel like my ranking would be so different. xD

    Anyway, this was a really fun post to read! I’m really interested in Witness, specifically, out of the ones on this list that I haven’t watched. I’ve kind of wanted to see it for a while but always assumed it’d be too much for me in some way . . . now I’m thinking I’d definitely like to look into it. Regarding Henry also looks really good.

    Ooh, also, have you watched/heard of Extraordinary Measures? Ford plays a salty old doctor who’s working with a businessman to find a cure for this rare disease that the businessman’s kids have, before it kills them. It’s REALLY good and I think you’d probably like it. 🙂 (Brendan Fraser plays the businessman, if that means anything.)

    Like

    1. I think you’d really enjoy Witness, based on some of the other movies I know you like. I don’t remember what kind of swearing or sexual content it has because I watched it with filters. So you might want to check that out beforehand, but idk. 😉

      I’ve heard of Extraordinary Measures! And I do want to watch it at some point…sounds super good.

      Like

  4. Well, I’m going to have to do a ten-favorites list for Harrison Ford, aren’t I? Actually, I’ve been considering doing them for lots of my fave actors and actresses, so thanks for this nudge.

    I like Crystal Skull 🙂 The only Indy film I don’t have is Temple of Doom, which I can’t stand.

    Going to be interesting to see how differently we rank some of these!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love Harrison Ford–such a fun guy! I notice you don’t have “Clear and Present Danger” on here, though! That may be my favorite of his films. It’s one of the Jack Ryan movies, and Ford is excellent in it. Plus, the story is *really* well done.

    “The Last Crusade” is my favorite of the Indiana Jones movies. Really loved Han Solo in “The Force Awakens” as well–though, like you, I will never forgive Kylo Ren for killing his own father. That was just wrong on so many levels.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nope, haven’t seen Clear and Present Danger. *in Steve Rogers’ voice* I’ll add it to the list. 😀

      YES. Kylo does *not* get any of my love, even though I usually really like villains.

      Like

  6. I want to see the Indiana Jones movies so bad, mostly because they star Harrison Ford. 😉 Of his movies I’ve only seen the original SW trilogy, and I love how he portrayed Han. He’s the whole reason why I love the character so much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Harrison Ford is one of my favorite actors too! ❤️ Love the idea of ranking his movies!
    I have only seen some of these, but this was a great list. (I agree, his preformance in The Last Crusade was really superb.)
    And you make a very good point, that the characters have SO much development in The Return Of The Jedi. Lucas did a great job with their character arcs in this one!
    Great post! ❤️

    Like

    1. *high fives*

      I love, love, love his performance in The Last Crusade. So funny, yet raw and realistic.

      I was kinda leery of Return of the Jedi after being underwhelmed by Empire, but my brain was basically in hyperdrive the whole time because of the coolness and awesomeness. ❤

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑